Spirit of Life Award Dinner

21 years ago this year, a group of construction and real estate professionals came together to fund City of Hope and the search for a cure for cancer, diabetes and life-threatening illness. Since that time, the Chicago Construction and Real Estate Council for City of Hope has grown to include representatives from all levels of the industry. Each year, the industry group comes together to a gala dinner where the Spirit of Life® Award is award to an industry leader.

The Spirit of Life® Award is City of Hope's most prestigious honor. Along with celebrating City of Hope's Centennial, this year's award will be presented to Richard Stein on • Tuesday, November 4 at the Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, Chicago. The Spirit of Life® Award Dinner offers industry professionals a unique combination of networking, socializing, and honoring an important business leader all while raising money for a worthy cause.

Register Now »

Our Honoree: Richard Stein
A true visionary and well-respected real estate veteran with more than 45 years of experience in real estate consulting and development, Richard Stein founded Stein & Company in 1971. In 1997, his firm was acquired by Mesirow Financial, where Stein currently serves as Senior Managing Director in its Office of the Chairman. On Mesirow Financials robust financial services platform, he brings his real estate expertise to many of the firm’s businesses and clients, specifically in Credit Tenant Lease Finance within Global Markets and Consulting, while also introducing opportunities to other areas of the firm. 

Stein is often selected to participate in large-scale, complex assignments and has been involved in projects valued at more than $100 billion. He has led some of Chicago's most recognizable developments, among them the 1.2 million square foot AT&T Corporate Center/USG Building, two McCormick Place expansions valued at $1.8 billion, major additions to The Chicago Board of Trade and the Adler Planetarium & Astronomy Museum, and extensive remodeling of The Lyric Opera House. His legacy includes involvement in several military base closures: Town of Fort Sheridan and the Glen, both in the Chicago area; Orlando, Florida; and Annapolis, Maryland. Over the course of Stein's career, he has been involved in more than $2.5 billion of condominium sales and has developed more than 17,000 residential units, most recently with partners, completing the $500 million mixed-use development, University Village, at the University of Illinois, Chicago.
He has served the community through numerous civic boards, committees and charities including the American Jewish Committee, the Anti-Defamation League, the Chicago Urban League, The Lambs Farm, and Ravinia Festival, of which he is a Life Trustee. His advocacy of economic opportunities for minorities, women and community-based businesses has won numerous honors, including a Presidential Citation.

A graduate of Cornell University, Stein is an advisory board member at Northwestern University's J.L. Kellogg Graduate School of Management - Center for Real Estate Research,  Urban Land Institute and Marshall Bennett Institute of Real Estate, Roosevelt University and was a long-serving board member of the former LaSalle Bank Corporation.
In 2003, Stein was the proud recipient of the Urban Land Institute (ULI) Lifetime Achievement Award.

Thank you to our sponsors

Dinner Committee Members
Event Co-chairs:  Richard Price –- Mesirow Financial and Mike Szkatulski –- RMC International

Dinner Committee members:  Norm Bobbins –-The PrivateBank , William Divane – Divane Brothers, Michael Golden – @ Properties, Al Gorman – Power Construction, Bruce Lake –- James McHugh Construction, Suzanne Lovell – Suzanne Lovell Inc., Lucy Minor, Theodore J. Novak – DLA Piper, Jeff Riemer – Lend Lease, Dana Thorne – Thorne Associates, Mike Szkatulski – RMC International, Joe Valenti – Valenti Builders, and Thaddeus Wong – @ Properties, Lori Healey – Tur Partners

Past Recipients
Past recipients include the following Chicago business leaders:
Jim DeStefano
John DiCiurcio
Al Gorman
Hem Gupta
Lamar Johnson
Lori Healey
Ronald Materick
Mike McInerney
William O’Neil
Jeff Riemer
Dan Ryan
Adrian Smith
Evans Spileos
Steven Stratton
Mike Szkatulski
Myron Warshauer
James Zajac
Mark Dewalt