癌症病患的十個簡易美容小提示

2015年10月28日 | by Veronique De Turenne

名人髮型設計師 Jose Eber 和女演員及癌症宣導人 Jaclyn Smith 非常了解一套好的美容習慣能帶來的改造。 在City of Hope最近一場美麗之日活動裡,他們分享了他們的知識,幫助他們的設計師團隊為 80 多位抗癌病患整理打扮。

Smith 是乳癌倖存者,而 Eber 是對抗女性癌症的宣導人,他們奉獻他們的時間和熱忱給許多參與這場輕鬆愉快活動的女性。 Smith 與 Paula Young Wigs 共同捐贈了 100 頂假髮。 Eber 最厲害的就是能讓女性配上最適合的髮型和臉上的顏色,他的團隊特別替每位參與者配上剪裁與風格適合的假髮。

這場活動的另一個焦點,則是女性經歷嚴苛的癌症治療時,能用意料之外的方法來讓自己感覺更好。 上一點妝、一點奢侈的保濕乳液、或甚至是輕柔的手部按摩,都是能帶來大大回饋的小小事物。 以下有更多美麗之日的小提示。

  1. 在術後六到八週,就是試穿乳房切除胸罩的時機。 在乎您的側影是完全沒問題的 - 確保您喜歡胸罩的適合度和感覺。 好的胸罩會有義乳大小的特殊口袋,簡單一裝就進去。
     
  2. 至於處理落髮的問題,最重要的是知道什麼能讓您有最好的感覺。 假髮還是圍巾? 可愛的帽子? 或者什麼都不用? 相信您的直覺。 您覺得最舒服的方式就是最好的方式。 如果您使用假髮,試試不同的髮色和髮型。
     
  3. 就算覺得再糟糕也保持正常習慣,這會帶來很大的不同。 還沒準備好化妝嗎? 一點點的唇蜜就能提升您的精神。
     
  4. 當您準備好開始化妝時,請找癌症專家。 您不只會在眉毛或眼睫毛等領域獲得專業的小提示,也會學習到避免感染的重要步驟。
     
  5. 使用護甲油能幫助因化療而變得脆弱的指甲。 (但是別把產品塗在您指甲根部的表皮。) 現在也不要剪您的指甲根部表皮,因為這會增加感染的風險。
     
  6. 您也可因醫療的原因暫時先不要洗碗盤 - 充滿肥皂的熱水對您的皮膚不好。 但如果您必須得使用廚房洗碗槽,就戴上橡膠手套。 再說,轉變時尚風這麼好玩,為何將就平凡呢?
     
  7. 滋潤保溼。 大幅滋潤。 下次買滋潤保溼乳液時揮霍一點,買很棒的產品,讓您每次使用時都覺得在放縱自己。
     
  8. 以風格對抗平凡。 一件別緻的上衣、一條新項鍊或一雙很棒的新鞋,都能讓您立刻容光煥發。
     
  9. 富有 -「富」在顏色。 化療可能造成皮膚氣色不佳,而珠寶的顏色能有很大的幫助。 還沒準備好為自己添置新裝嗎? 那就在脖子上加一條漂亮的圍巾 - 真像奧黛莉赫本。
     
  10. 試試新鮮的事物,跟City of Hope美麗之日活動的參加者一樣。 不管是哪種服務,化妝、頭髮、或護甲、或甚至是按摩,都記得讓服務者知道您的皮膚、身體、和免疫系統能(和不能)承受的程度。
**

進一步瞭解City of Hope提供病患的形象增進服務 正面形象中心

**

進一步瞭解我們獨特的病患體驗,如何在City of Hope預約門診或獲得第二意見。您也可以要求 new patient appointment online 或撥打800-826-HOPE (4673) 來瞭解更多訊息。

 

返回頂部

搜尋部落格

10 easy beauty tips for cancer patients

October 28, 2015 | by Veronique De Turenne

Celebrity hairstylist Jose Eber and actress and cancer awareness activist Jaclyn Smith are no strangers to the transformative power of a great beauty routine. At a recent City of Hope Day of Beauty event, they shared what they know, helping their team of stylists beautify and pamper more than 80 cancer-fighting patients.

Smith, a breast cancer survivor, and Eber, an advocate in the fight against women's cancers, donated their time and enthusiasm to the many women who attended the light-hearted event. Smith, in partnership with Paula Young Wigs, donated 100 wigs. Eber, famous for his ability to match a woman with the best cut and color for her face, brought his staff to specifically fit, cut and style the wigs for each attendee.

Also a focus of the event were the unexpected ways a woman undergoing the rigors of cancer treatment can help herself feel better. A bit of makeup, a luxurious moisturizer or even a gentle hand massage are just a few little things that can have big rewards. More tips gleaned from the Day of Beauty are below.

  1. At about six to eight weeks post-op, it’s time to be fitted for a mastectomy bra. It’s absolutely OK to care about your silhouette – make sure you like the fit and how it feels. Good bras will have a special pocket sized for a prosthetic, which slips right in.
     
  2. When it comes to dealing with hair loss, the most important thing is what makes you feel best. A wig or a scarf? A cute hat? Perhaps nothing at all? Trust your instincts. However you feel the most comfortable is the way to go. If trying a wig, try experimenting with the color and cut.
     
  3. Having a normal routine, even when you feel awful, makes a big difference. Not quite ready for makeup? Just a glimmer of lip gloss can lift your spirits.
     
  4. When you’re ready for makeup, seek out a cancer specialist. You’ll not only get specialized tips on areas like eyebrows and eyelashes, you’ll also learn the important steps to take to avoid infection.
     
  5. Using a nail strengthener can help with the effects of chemotherapy, which can leave nails fragile or brittle. (But don’t get the product near your cuticles.) And be sure not to cut your cuticles right now, as that puts you at risk of infection.
     
  6. You’ve got a medical reprieve from doing dishes – the hot and soapy water isn’t good for your skin. But if you must spend time at the kitchen sink, wear rubber gloves. And why settle for boring when going high-fashion is so much fun?
     
  7. Moisturize. A lot. Make your next moisturizer purchase a splurge, something wonderful that will make you feel pampered each time you use it.
     
  8. Fight the blahs with style. A chic blouse, a new necklace or some great new shoes can give you an instant boost.
     
  9. Get rich – rich colors, that is. Chemo can cause sallow skin and jewel tones will make a big difference. Not ready to add to your wardrobe? Go with a pretty scarf around your neck – very Audrey Hepburn.
     
  10. Try something new, just like the participants did at City of Hope’s Day of Beauty event. Whatever the service, whether it’s makeup, hair or nail care, or even a massage, be sure to let the provider know what your skin, body and immune system can (and cannot) handle.
**

Learn about the image-enhancing services offered to patients at City of Hope’s Positive Image Center.

**

Learn more about our unique patient experience, how to make an appointment or get a second opinion at City of Hope. You may also request a new patient appointment online or call 800-826-HOPE (4673) for more information.

 

Back To Top

Search Blogs