2017 年玫瑰花車遊行︰乳腺癌倖存者 Linh Quan 的 5 個問答

2016年12月12日 | by Denise Heady

 

 

 

 

City of Hope 第 45 年參加第 128 屆玫瑰花車遊行。 今年,七名病患為慶祝過去、現在和將來戰勝疾病的成功,將在 City of Hope 玫瑰遊行花車上迎接 2017 年。 花車的主題為「科學與靈魂的奇跡」,加深了遊行主題「成功的迴響」的意義。

女性癌症將影響三分之一女性的一生。 癌症倖存者 Linh Quan 就是這些女性中的一員。 Quan 在 40 歲經過乳房 X 光攝影檢查被診斷出患有乳腺癌,之後,她前往 City of Hope,根據經驗,她知道自己將在這裡得到很好的照顧。 經過多輪化療後,Quan 接受了雙乳切除術,之後又花六個月的時間進行了追蹤化療。 由於接受了專業化護理,四年後,她戰勝了癌症,現在積極的回饋貢獻。

我感到非常榮幸,希望能夠盡力改變世界。」

現在,Quan 將分享自己在治療過程中的經驗。

你有什麼想告訴那些剛被診斷出癌症的病患呢?

雖然不容易,但終究會熬過去的。 保持樂觀的心態。 想想支持您的家人和朋友,提醒自己在奮戰的原因,比如您想活著看孩子成長。

治療期間,對您而言,最激動人心的時刻是什麼?

接受治療非常艱難。 出現的副作用讓我覺得好像失去了生命。 但在家人的支持下,並想著我不僅僅是為自己而活,也要為我的兒子而活的意志力的支撐下,我提醒自己,我可以做到,因為我有支持我的人,這只是暫時的,一切會變得越來越好。

您給病患的一條實用建議是什麼 - 如穿著保暖的襪子接受治療或者在感覺不錯時錄聽自己喜歡音樂或吃冰淇淋等等?

確保攝入食物並且大量喝水。 冥想與祈禱。

您最依賴的家人或喜愛之人是誰,他/她是怎麼幫助您的?

我所有的家人都伴我左右。  比如,我的丈夫帶我去看醫師和接受化療;我的兄弟在我第一次就診時陪我看外科醫師,以防我忘記諮詢某些資訊;我的阿姨每晚過來陪我,直到我的丈夫下班回家。

您覺得自己成功戰勝癌症,最應該「感謝」的人是誰?

我的家人、朋友和 City of Hope 的所有員工 — 尤其是我的手術 醫師 Paz、我的腫瘤科 醫師 Yeon 和所有化療護士。

****

有關 City of Hope 花車的更多資訊,請造訪 City of Hope 玫瑰花車遊行網站。

****

進一步了解我們的乳腺癌計劃和獨特的病患體驗。 如果您已被確診患有癌症或希望為您的治療尋找第二意見的諮詢服務,請在線上預約門診或致電聯絡我們,電話是 800-826-HOPE。 請前往進行第一次預約了解更多資訊。

 

 

返回頂部

搜尋部落格

2017 Rose Parade: 5 questions for breast cancer survivor Linh Quan

December 12, 2016 | by Denise Heady

 

 

 

 

For the 45th year, City of Hope will participate in the 128th Tournament of Roses Parade. This year, seven patients celebrating their past, present and future successes will welcome 2017 atop City of Hope’s Rose Parade float. The float, themed "The Miracle of Science with Soul," adds a deeper dimension to the parade theme of “Echoes of Success.”

Women’s cancers will affect one in three women in her lifetime. One of those women is cancer survivor Linh Quan. Diagnosed with breast cancer after a routine mammogram at 40 years old, Quan went to City of Hope, where she knew from experience that she would be in good hands. After intense rounds of chemotherapy, Quan underwent a double mastectomy and spent another six months undergoing follow-up chemotherapy. Four years later, she is now cancer free and focused on giving back as a result of the specialized care she received.

I feel very honored, and I hope to do whatever I can to make a difference.”

Here, Quan shares some of the wisdom she's gained during her treatment journey.

What would you tell other patients who have been recently diagnosed?

It is not easy, but you will get through it. Stay positive. Think of your family and friends that support you and remind yourself why you’re fighting — like you want to live to see your kids grow up.

What was your most pivotal emotional moment during treatment?

Treatment was very hard. The side effects were bad and I felt lifeless. But with the support of my family and will to live for not only myself, but for my son, I would remind myself that I can do it because I have everyone on my side and that it is just temporary and will get better.

What is one piece of practical advice you would give patients – such as wear warm socks to treatment, or take your own music or eat ice cream when you’re feeling good, etc?

Make sure you eat and drink lots of water. Meditate and pray.

What family member or loved one did you rely on most – and how did he/she help?

All my family was there for me.  For example, my husband took me to all my doctor and chemo treatments, my brothers were at my first visit to see my surgeon just in case I forgot to ask him anything and my aunt came over every night to be with me until my husband came home from work.

Who do you feel you owe the most "thanks" for your successes?

My family, friends and all the staff at City of Hope — especially my surgeon Dr. Paz, my oncologist Dr. Yeon and all the chemotherapy nurses.

****

For more information about City of Hope's float, visit the City of Hope Rose Parade site.

****

Learn more about our breast cancer program and our unique patient experience. If you have been diagnosed with cancer or are looking for a second opinion consultation about your treatment, request an appointment online or contact us at 800-826-HOPE. Please visit Making Your First Appointment for more information.

 

 

Sign up to receive the latest updates on City of Hope news, medical breakthroughs, and prevention tips straight to your email inbox!

Back To Top

Search Blogs