「彷彿煙灰在我身體裡生長」

2016年11月29日 | by Stephanie Smith

戒煙的 7 個技巧 | City of Hope

如果您有煙癮,戒煙可能是您這輩子嘗試過最難的事。 有些吸煙者說戒煙像「戒海洛因一樣難」。 還有一些人說「像中國水刑一樣殘酷」。

這些說法有時將戒煙的難度誇大了。現在是肺癌宣導月,讓我們問問在 Facebook 追蹤我們的朋友分享他們戒煙的創意技巧。

對一些人來說,他們是碰到身體有狀況—如呼吸困難—或確診癌症而開始戒煙。 有些人是害怕立即要面對的健康危機。 您們許多人合併使用過不同的方法來戒煙。

這裡提供戒煙的七大技巧:

  1. 「我決定要戒煙,就突然完全不抽煙。」 戒煙最常用的方法之一,就是像 Genaro, Judy 和 Dewey 用的方法,就是停止抽煙。 對 Genaro 來說,他碰到一些戒煙的症狀—發燒、頭痛、產生大量口水和炭肺-而對其他像 Judy 的人來說則沒有任何症狀。 他們說能戒煙成功的關鍵是毅力和決心。
  1. 「我是到了吸氣時會痛的程度!」 當呼吸開始產生困難是,Natascha 瞭解她可能正走在她祖父母的不歸路,因為他們都曾被診斷患有慢性阻塞性肺疾病。 她和她的先生決定一起合作,使用夥伴系統互相支援來一起戒煙。 他們使用尼古丁貼片和口香糖,以及相互的支持而成功戒煙。
  1. 「我拿著每根香煙,告訴我自己說它讓我覺得噁心。」 Lorraine 和其他人是透過一種視覺化的方式來戒煙-將吸煙的動作或香煙與負面的感覺連結起來。 Jonathan 說,「我把它看成是煙灰在我身體裡生長。 很髒。」 對 Lorraine 來說,想像香煙會使她生病的的情況,足以讓她戒掉過去 15 年一天兩包的煙癮。
  1. 「我從改變生活例行公事開始。」 有的時候改變生活行例行公事會有幫助。 Patty 在自己戒煙的過程中,用健康的習慣來取代抽煙,如常刷牙和嚼薄荷口香糖。 Jack 改變他每天固定抽第一根煙的習慣,他已經四年沒抽煙了。
  1. “我祈禱。” 我們許多的讀者說,他們靠信心和祈禱來幫助他們走過戒煙時的低潮期。 Joann 說祈禱讓她每天有力量抗拒拿起香煙的誘惑。 她把香煙放回去,就這樣成功戒煙了。 她從此沒有再抽煙。
  1. 「我得了癌症。」 站在可能會走向死亡的懸崖是很多跟蹤我們的朋友很大的動力。 Donna 被確診癌症後,來仍繼續抽煙來應付治療所帶來的焦慮。 在化療過程中她的味覺改變後,她變得不喜歡煙的味道,就趁這個機會戒了。
  1. 「我可以沒有它。」 和其他 Facebook 跟蹤我們的人將抽煙與負面想法做連結一樣,有些人是用正面的想法來應對。 他們決定用正面的方法來面對戒煙。 Scott 說:「首先,我決定我不用抽煙。 我的生活可以沒有它。 Kay 有一天告訴自己:「我比 [香煙] 聰明多了,」然後很快把煙丟掉。 Scott 在一月將慶祝成功戒煙 41 年,而 Kay 戒煙成功有 35 年了。

對大部份的人來說,第一次戒煙—或第二、第三次-都可能不會成功。 這真的非常困難—戒除、壓力、還有其他可能會破壞完美計劃的事情。

但是將社會支持、諮詢、尼古丁替代產品及可能對您有幫助的藥物等方法結合在一起-如果您需要戒煙的動機,還可同時利用其他可得的許多資源

找到有創意的戒煙方法能讓您會得更久,更健康。 「你會開始發現自己的感覺變好,味覺和嗅覺得到改變,也有更多精力。」Leah 說道。 「你也會發現每天多了兩個小時的時間!」

 

返回頂部

搜尋部落格

'Like the ash was growing inside me'

November 29, 2016 | by Stephanie Smith

7 Tips for Quitting Smoking | City of Hope

If you are addicted, quitting smoking may be one of the most difficult things you ever try to do. “Like kicking heroin,” according to some online accounts by smokers. “Like Chinese water torture,” according to others.

That sometimes hyperbolically stated difficulty, and this being Lung Cancer Awareness Month, led us to ask our Facebook followers to share some creative tips they used to quit smoking.

For some it took physical symptoms – like difficulty breathing – or a cancer diagnosis to cut cigarettes out of their lives. For others it was the fear that that diagnosis was imminent. Most of you used a combination of things to kick the habit.

Here are your top seven tips for quitting:

  1. “I decided to quit smoking and go ‘cold turkey’ style.” One of the most popular ways people like Genaro, Judy and Dewey used to quit was to simply stop. In Genaro’s case it led to some withdrawal symptoms – fever, headache, excessive salivating and black spit – and for others like Judy, there were no symptoms. They credit strength and being resolute as keys to staying quit.
  1. “It was getting to the point when I inhaled it hurt!” When breathing became difficult, Natascha began to realize she may be heading down the same perilous path as her grandparents, who were both diagnosed with chronic obstructive pulmonary disease. She and her husband decided to band together, using a buddy system, and stop smoking together. They eased out of the habit using nicotine patches and gum – and mutual support.
  1. “I told myself with each cigarette it made me feel sick.” Lorraine and others were able to quit by using a type of visualization – a way of invoking a negative feeling or association around the act of smoking or the cigarettes themselves. Jonathan said, “I looked at it like the ash was growing inside me. Dirty.” For Lorraine, the mantra that cigarettes would make her feel sick was powerful enough for her to kick a two-pack-a-day habit that lasted for 15 years.
  1. “I started by changing my routine.” Sometimes a change in routine can help. Patty quit cold turkey, but figured out healthy replacement habits like brushing her teeth often, and chewing peppermint gum. Jack changed his routine by skipping his usual first cigarette of the day, and it has been four years since his last cigarette.
  1. “I prayed.” Several of our readers say they leaned on things like faith and prayer to get them through the rough parts of quitting. Joann says praying a lot gave her the strength one day to resist reaching for a cigarette. She put it back and that was it. She has not smoked since.
  1. “I got cancer.” Being on the precipice of possible death was a big motivator for several of our followers. Donna was diagnosed with lung cancer and continued smoking to get through the stress of treatment. When her taste buds changed during chemotherapy, making the cigarettes taste terrible, she took that opportunity to quit.
  1. “I can live without it.” Similar to Facebook followers who created negative associations around their habit, others took the opposite tack. They decided to put a positive spin on quitting. Scott says, “First I decided I’m not a smoker. I can live without it.” And Kay told herself one day, “I’m smarter than these [cigarettes],” and promptly threw them away. Scott will celebrate 41 years smoke-free in January and for Kay it has been 35 years.

For most people, quitting smoking may not work the first – or second, or third – time. It is incredibly difficult – withdrawal, stress and other things may derail the best laid plans.

But pairing these tips with social support, counseling, nicotine replacement products and, possibly, medication may work for you – along with taking advantage of the many resources available if you’re struggling with motivation.

The upshot of finding creative ways to quit: living longer – and healthier. “You start noticing that you feel better, taste and smell improve, energy increases,” said Leah. “And you realize that you have about two extra hours every day!”

 

Sign up to receive the latest updates on City of Hope news, medical breakthroughs, and prevention tips straight to your email inbox!

Back To Top

Search Blogs