優質實惠的乳癌檢測:也許就是未來的方向

2015年10月20日 | by Abe Rosenberg

有一個經實驗證明有效的新型造影系統可能可以較低成本提供更多女性更優質的乳癌檢測。

雖然2D和更新的3D數位乳房超音波(也叫做乳房斷層攝影)曾為一般乳癌篩檢的標準,許多專家仍推薦在乳房超音波以外,為罹癌風險較高的女性使用乳房核磁共振造影(MRI)。 已經診斷出癌症的病患則通常也會使用MRI來幫忙精準定位腫瘤的位置和大小。

但是MRI非常昂貴,大約是乳房超音波的十倍價格。 而且,MRI核磁共振造影機不一定到處都有,而許多女性,包括年老、有幽閉恐懼症、或肥胖的女性,無法輕易的忍受這種六十到九十分鐘的過程。 有些有體內有金屬植入物的病患,如心律調節器或人工關節等,也應避免使用MRI核磁共振造影。

一位City of Hope的放射治療師想到了一個替代方案。

Nikita “Nikki” Gidwaney 醫學博士建議某些案例可用加強對比的3D乳房超音波來取代乳房核磁共振造影。 Gidwaney 希望主導試驗來證明顯影劑對比增強乳房斷層掃描(CEBT)能提供同樣精準的結果,而避免MRI乳房核磁共振造影的高價格和使用上的限制。

診斷放射部門的助理臨床教授 Gidwaney 說:「乳房核磁共振造影 MRI 有非常高的假陽性機率, 會導致不必要的切片檢查並增加病患焦慮。 我認為我們用 CEBT 會有比較低的假陽性機率。」

合理的下一步驟

Gidwaney 的構想是從發現2D數位造影科技穩定的進步而來,尤其是在含碘顯影劑面世以後。 她和其他人相信,合理的下一步是用製造商已研發的軟體用3D乳房斷層攝影機做同樣的步驟。

Gidwaney 方法的一個可能的缺點,是跟MRI核磁共振相比,斷層掃描的放射線劑量會有所增加。 可是 Gidwaney 說實際的額外放射線劑量非常低,比電腦斷層攝影(CT)和正子發射斷層掃描儀(PET)還要低很多,甚至比我們日常生活會接觸到的背景放射線還要少。 她說:「我們在其他癌症還使用更多放射線。 這樣看來,毫無疑問,好處遠遠多過風險。」

乳房手術服務長Laura Kruper 醫學博士說:「這是非常棒的點子。 我認為(Gidwaney 醫師)的點子很有潛力。 如果 CEBT 發現與 MRI 在疾病顯影一樣有效、而且假陽性率又更低的話,那就太棒了。」Kruper 與女性癌症科主任 Joanne Mortimer 醫學博士正積極地幫助 Gidwaney 推動這個計畫。

Gidwaney 非常感激這份充滿信心的支持。

她說:「這個經驗非常正向,我的同事給我很多支持,看到臨床試驗師對這個計畫感到興奮。 我真的很感謝。 我們是一個真正的團隊,總是彼此扶持,總是為了病患著想。 這是City of Hope吸引我們的原因、也是我們一天工作 11、12 個小時的原因。 我們想要待在這裡。」

讓所有女性獲得更好的健康

但是 Gidwaney 也想要更多東西。

她是個醫師也是行動者,也是不滿只「坐在暗房裡」解讀影像的放射師。 Gidwaney 是從小兒科轉到放射科的,所以她很重視與病患培養深厚的關係。 她說:「這是我在工作上最喜歡的部份。」 她也到世界各地倡導女性健康,最近才從醫學科技可與西方標準相比的印度演講回來,但印度對於廣泛篩檢需求的認知則「比任何地方都還要落後三十年」。

尋找更有效、更實惠的造影替代方案,是因自己的使命感自然而然所開始追求的目標。

她說:「我們從早期的造影到現在進步很多。 「我的目標是鼓勵進步,讓現在看起來激烈又『不傳統』的點子或科技有一天會成為另一個可以幫助更多人的可用工具。」

******

進一步瞭解City of Hope的乳癌科 進一步瞭解我們獨特的病患體驗,如何在City of Hope預約門診或獲得第二意見。您也可以要求 new patient appointment online 或撥打800-826-HOPE (4673) 來瞭解更多訊息。

返回頂部

搜尋部落格

Better breast cancer detection at a lower cost: The future may be here

October 20, 2015 | by Abe Rosenberg

A new spin on a tried-and-true imaging system could potentially provide more women with superior breast cancer detection at a lower cost.

Although 2-D and, more recently, 3-D digital mammograms (also called tomosynthesis) have been the standard for general breast cancer screening, many experts recommend supplementing the mammogram with a breast MRI (magnetic resonance imaging) for women at higher risk. Patients who've already been diagnosed with the disease typically also undergo an MRI to help pinpoint the location and size of the tumors.

But MRIs are expensive, as much as 10 times the cost of a mammogram. Also, MRI machines are not always widely available, and many women, including those who are elderly, claustrophobic or obese, cannot easily tolerate the 60- to 90-minute procedure. Some patients with metallic implants like pacemakers or artificial joints should avoid MRIs altogether.

One City of Hope radiologist has come up with an alternative.

Nikita “Nikki” Gidwaney, M.D., suggests replacing breast MRIs in select cases with 3-D mammograms enhanced with added contrast. Gidwaney hopes to conduct trials which will demonstrate that contrast-enhanced breast tomosynthesis, or CEBT, can deliver equally precise results while avoiding MRIs’ high cost and inherent limitations.

“Breast MRIs have a very high false-positive rate,” says Gidwaney, assistant clinical professor in the Department of Diagnostic Radiology. “That leads to unnecessary biopsies and elevated patient anxiety. I think we can achieve a lower false-positive rate with CEBT.”

The next logical step

Gidwaney's idea evolved from observing the steady improvement in 2-D digital-imaging technology, especially when iodine contrast is introduced. The next logical step, she and others believe, is to do the same with the 3-D tomosynthesis machine, using software already available from the manufacturer.

One possible drawback to Gidwaney's approach is the added radiation of tomosynthesis, compared to MRIs. But Gidwaney says the actual amount of additional radiation is minimal, far lower than radiation levels of CT (computed tomography) and PET (positive emission tomography) scans, and even smaller than the normal background radiation we all encounter in our daily lives. “We use much more radiation with other cancers,” she says. “And in this case, without a doubt, the benefits far outweigh the risks.”

“It's an awesome idea,” says Laura Kruper, M.D., head of breast surgery service. “I think (Dr. Gidwaney) is onto something here. If CEBT is found to be equivalent to MRI for documenting the extent of the disease with fewer false positives, this would be wonderful.” Along with Joanne Mortimer, M.D., director of the Women's Cancers Program, Kruper is enthusiastically helping Gidwaney take this project forward.

Gidwaney is grateful for the vote of confidence.

“It's been such a positive experience,” she says, “getting so much support from my colleagues, seeing how the clinicians are so excited by the project. I really appreciate that. We're a real team here, always pulling for each other, and always for the sake of the patient. It's what brings us to City of Hope in the first place, and what keeps us working 11, 12 hours a day. We want to be here.”

Better health for all women

But Gidwaney also wants something more.

She is both physician and activist, a radiologist not content to just “sit in a dark room” interpreting images. Having switched to radiology from pediatrics, Gidwaney makes a point of forging deep connections with her patients. “That's my favorite part of the job,” she says. She also advocates for women's health around the world and recently returned from a speaking engagement in India where medical technology is comparable to Western standards, but cultural awareness of the need for widespread screenings is “30 years behind everyone else.”

Finding a more efficient, less expensive imaging alternative is a natural outgrowth of the way she views her mission.

“We've come so far from the early days of imaging,” she says. “My goal is to encourage progress, so that an idea or technique that now may seem drastic and 'out of the box' will one day become just another available tool that can help more people.”

******

Find out more about City of Hope's Breast Cancer Program. Learn more about our unique patient experience, how to make an appointment or get a second opinion at City of Hope. You may also request a new patient appointment online or call 800-826-HOPE (4673) for more information.

Back To Top

Search Blogs