City of Hope 指導美國臨床腫瘤學會(ASCO)的新老年癌症建議

2018年6月8日 | by Saundra Young

我們生活在一個老年化的社會中。 這個不容置疑的事實,伴隨著重要嚴肅的統計數據。
年齡是罹患癌症的最大風險因素之一。 根據美國臨床腫瘤學會(ASCO)的統計,約 70% 的癌症患者年齡超過 65 歲。
不幸的是,專家預估這個比例將會在未來 20 年內顯著增加,發展老年人的治療決策勢在必行。 好消息是在高齡患者之中,成為癌症倖存者的比例很高。 
現在 ASCO 發布新的建議,旨在幫助醫生評估與管理這些老年人的照護。
「老年人評估工具可以幫助識別老年癌症患者的脆弱性和適應能力,並提供共同的決策訊息」ASCO 首席醫療長,醫學博士 Richard L. Schilsky 說道。「該指南為這些脆弱的群體,提供關於適當的工具和決策模型之建議。它還提供常見的年齡相關疾病的管理建議,這些疾病可能影響老年癌症病患在化療時的護理。」
City of Hope 醫學博士 Arti Hurria,老年腫瘤科醫生,與醫學博士 William Dale,老年和安寧照護醫師,兩位共同主持製定發展新的指南。

新型評估

Arti Hurria Arti Hurria, M.D.
建置老年人評估是最重要的事。
老年腫瘤學的 George Tsai 家庭代表 Hurria 說:「老年人評估確實是一種『讓你不僅只了解患者實際年齡』的好方式。」 「除了患者年齡外,還能了解他們在日常生活中的活躍程度。」 他們是否有其他的醫療問題?他們的社交支援為何?他們是否感到焦慮和沮喪?他們的營養狀況以及記憶狀況是如何?」
做出治療決定時將所有事項放入考量是很重要的,因此 Hurria 認為所有 65 歲以上計畫要化療的患者都應經過評估,其中包括功能、合併症、抑鬱、認知、跌倒、營養以及甚至社交活動和社交支持的檢測。
「評估時可能會發現病患容易跌倒的問題,如果是,我們就應該考慮進行物理治療評估。」Hurria 說道。 「如果他們的體重一直下降,我們就應該有營養師參與。「如果他們沒有家人的支持,我們會考慮讓社會工作者參與進來,並在治療期間為病患提供額外的支持。」 如果他們有其他醫療疾病問題,我們會考量其對治療的影響,評估我們的用藥類型。我們可以從評估中獲得諸多價值,讓我們了解這個人是誰,以及我們可以採取何種措施來幫助病患完成癌症治療。」
「罹癌人口迅速老化且不斷增長,這個指南提供了適時的協助。」美國癌症協會癌症與老齡化研究策略總監 Corinne Leach 說道。 「臨床醫生現在可以參考此指南,瞭解他們能夠採取的必要步驟,以改善化療中的老年癌症病患護理。」
這些測試包括老年抑鬱量表、工具性日常生活能力量表、定向-記憶-注意測驗和高齡患者的化療風險評估量表。
專家認為,此評估有助於預測誰可能會因治療而產生嚴重的副作用,能幫助醫生了解特定患者的治療風險,並根據總體健康狀況預測病情發展。

更高的存活率

William Dale, M.D. Ph.D. William Dale, M.D., Ph.D.
「建議中的另一部分是為病患建立預期壽命或存活率,這是每個人都想知道的事。」支援照護 Arthur M. Coppola 的家庭代表 Dale 補充道。「通常,我們所有的最佳資訊是與癌症相關的存活率。但是從老年人評估的角度來看,了解老年病患所有其他疾病的存活率,所有透過老年人評估辨識確定的事情,都可用來準確地預測患者的其他風險,以及與癌症無關時的存活率。」
Dale 認為對病患來說,與醫生進行對話討論非常重要;討論時必須包括整個護理團隊。 第一步?
「確認病患清楚了解腫瘤科醫師提出的照護計劃。然而隨後,迅速轉向其老年人評估,與他們交談討論以了解他們的生活重心、為他確定個人的目標,以及我們會如何利用討論和正式評估來幫助他們實現目標,無論是使用其他類型的療法輔助他們的癌症治療,或者是讓他們與腫瘤科醫師更詳細地討論化療選擇。」
「真正困難的部分是,」 Hurria 說,「確定你在正確的時間,為正確的人,做正確的事;而這正是病患真正想要的。當我看著評估結果並真正了解這位病患之後,接著與他們一起討論化療毒性時,我就會感受到「他們覺得這種治療方法是否值得,是否符合他們的目標。」」
她將評估作為了解患者的跳板,並開始有意義的對話討論。
 「它成為我與老年人談話時不可或缺的一部分。」

令人擔心的統計數據

ASCO 認為,對話討論的另一個整體必須有癌症臨床試驗參與,而這個部分老年病患者的代表性不足。 
Schilsky 說「我們對於照顧老年癌症患者的知識是不足的,因為他們經常被排除在參與臨床試驗之外。」
根據 ASCO,在美國國立衛生研究院參加試驗的病患中,年齡在 65 至 74 歲之間的患者只有不到 25%,超過 75 歲的患者不到 10%,這意味著缺乏做出合理醫療決策所需的重要資訊。 老年人的少數群體是最不足的。
專家也建議醫師使用在 ePrognosis 建置的工具來預估預期壽命。 在該檔案中,醫師可以找到有關病患存活率和死亡率結果的資訊。
Dale 說,老年人評估所花費的時間和金錢比他們目前所做的許多測試還要少。 
更節省時間的方法?大部分的問題都可以在病患真正見到他們的腫瘤科醫生師之前填寫。 病患可搜尋線上評估在 癌症與老齡化研究團隊網站
Dale 說:「我認為讓病人採取主動行動是個好主意。」 「我認為,一個感到害怕的患者有時會不知道該如何與醫生談話。」
****
Subscribe to Physician News for the latest developments in diabetes and cancer prevention, treatment, research, clinical trials and upcoming continuing medical education (CME) programs.

We will always respect your privacy and you may unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell or exchange your information with others. View our complete Privacy Policy .
 

e.g., Medical Oncology, Hematology, General1 Practice, etc.

返回頂部

搜尋部落格

City of Hope Guides ASCO’s New Geriatric Cancer Recommendations

June 8, 2018 | by Saundra Young

We are living in an aging society. And with that undeniable truth comes sobering statistics.
Age is one of the greatest risk factor for developing cancer. According to the American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO), about 70 percent of those diagnosed with the disease are over 65 years old.
Unfortunately, experts say those numbers are expected to increase significantly over the next 20 years, making treatment decisions for this population imperative. The good news is a large percentage of those patients are cancer survivors. 
Now ASCO has released new recommendations designed to help doctors assess and manage care for these older adults.
“Geriatric assessment tools can help identify frailty and resilience in older cancer patients and inform shared decision-making,” ASCO Chief Medical Officer Richard L. Schilsky, M.D. said. “This guideline provides recommendations on the appropriate implementation of such tools and decision-making models for this vulnerable population. It also provides recommendations for managing common age-related conditions that may impact the care of older patients with cancer undergoing chemotherapy.”
City of Hope physicians Arti Hurria, M.D., a geriatric oncologist, and William Dale, M.D., Ph.D., a geriatrician and palliative care physician, co-chaired the panel that developed the new guidelines.

A New Assessment

Hurria-Arti Arti Hurria, M.D.
Establishing a geriatric assessment was at the top of the list.
“A geriatric assessment really is a fancy way of saying ‘get to know your patients as a whole individual beyond their chronological age,’” said Hurria, the George Tsai Family Chair in Geriatric Oncology. “So in addition to the patient’s age, understanding how active are they in their daily life. What other medical problems do they have? What’s their social support? Are they feeling anxious and depressed? What’s their nutritional status and what’s their memory like?”
All things that should be taken into consideration when making treatment decisions and so important that Hurria says the panel determined all patients over 65 planning to have chemotherapy should get this assessment, which would include tests to evaluate function, comorbidity, depression, cognition, falls, nutrition and even social activity and support.
“The assessment might pick up things like an individual is falling, and if they are, we should consider a physical therapy assessment," Hurria said. "If they have been losing weight, we should have a nutritionist involved. If they don't have family support, we would think about getting our social worker involved and providing additional support for the patient during treatment. If they have other medical problems, we would think about how that might influence the treatment and the types of drugs that we get. So there's so much value that we can get from this assessment that might tell us about who this individual is, and also what are certain interventions that we can do to help them through their cancer therapy?”
“This guideline is timely due to the rapidly aging and growing cancer population,” said Corinne Leach, strategic director for cancer and aging research at the American Cancer Society. “Clinicians will now be able to refer to this guideline for the essential steps they can take to improve the care of their older cancer patients receiving chemotherapy.”
Tests include the Geriatric Depression Scale, the Instrumental Activities of Daily Living, Blessed Orientation-Memory-Concentration test and the Chemotherapy Risk Assessment Scale for High-Age Patients.
The panel felt the assessment would help predict who might experience severe side effects from treatment, help the physician understand how risky a treatment is for a particular patient, and help determine prognosis based on general health.

A Better Prognosis

William Dale, M.D. Ph.D. William Dale, M.D., Ph.D.
“Another part of the recommendation is to establish life expectancy or prognosis for patients, and it's something that everybody would like to know,” added Dale, the Arthur M. Coppola Family Chair in Supportive Care Medicine. “Often the best information we have is about prognosis related to the cancer. But from a geriatric assessment perspective, knowing prognosis for all of the other conditions that someone has, all of those things identified by geriatric assessment can be used to accurately predict what people's other risks are and what their prognosis is from things separate from the cancer.”
Dale feels it’s important for patients to initiate these conversations with their doctor; discussions that must include the entire care team. The first step?
“Make sure a patient has a clear understanding of what their care plan is from their oncologist. But then to turn quickly to their geriatric assessments and to talk about them, about what's most important to them in their lives, to establish what their goals are personally, and how we can use this discussion and the formal assessments to help them achieve those goals, whether that's to supplement their cancer-directed therapy with other kinds of therapies, or whether it's to have them have a more detailed conversation with their oncologist about what to do about their chemotherapy choices.”
“The really hard part,” Hurria said, “is to make sure you're doing the right thing for the right individual at the right time, and that it’s what the patient really wants. And so what I find is that as I go through the assessment findings and really get to know this individual, and then look at the chemotherapy toxicity tool with them, I get a sense of, 'Do they feel that this treatment is worth it? Is this in line with what their goals are?'"
She looks at the assessment as a springboard for getting to know her patients and starting a meaningful dialogue.
 “It becomes a very integral part of my conversation with an older adult.”

Daunting Statistics

ASCO believes another integral part of the conversation must be cancer clinical trial participation where elderly patients are under-represented. 
“Our knowledge of how to care for older patients with cancer,” Schilsky said, “Is limited as they are often excluded from participation in clinical trials.”
According to ASCO less than 25 percent of patients enrolled in trials at the National Institutes of Health are 65 to 74 years of age and less than 10 percent are over 75, which means vital information needed to make sound medical decisions is lacking. Elderly minority populations are the most vulnerable.
The panel also recommends physicians use established tools found at ePrognosis to estimate life expectancy. In this archive, doctors can find information on patient prognosis and mortality outcomes.
Dale says the geriatric assessment takes less time and money than many of the tests they currently do. 
Another timesaver? Most of it can be filled out by the patient before they actually see their oncologist. Patients can find the assessment online at the Cancer and Aging Research Group website.
“I love the idea of the patient taking the initiative on this,” Dale said. “I think the one fear patients have sometimes is not knowing what to bring up with the doctors.”
****
Subscribe to Physician News for the latest developments in diabetes and cancer prevention, treatment, research, clinical trials and upcoming continuing medical education (CME) programs.

We will always respect your privacy and you may unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell or exchange your information with others. View our complete Privacy Policy .
 

e.g., Medical Oncology, Hematology, General1 Practice, etc.

Back To Top

Search Blogs