The exceptional contributions of our nurses are regularly recognized via the monthly Daisy Award, the quarterly Clinical Advancement Program (CAP), and the annual Professional Practice Awards and during Nurses' Week.
Learn more about life as a nurse at City of Hope: Nursing Newsletter Vol. 1


The DAISY Foundation was established in 1999 by the family of J. Patrick Barnes who died of complications of the auto-immune diesase Idiopathic Thrombocytopenia Purpura (ITP) at the age of 33.  DAISY is an acronym for Diseases Attacking the Immune System. 

As a result of the amazing nursing care and compassion Patrick received during his 8 week hospitalization, his family wanted to recognize extraordinary nurses everywhere who make an enormous difference in the lives of so many people by the super-human work they do every day. The DAISY Award for Extraordinary Nurses is now an international program that rewards and celebrates the clinical skill and compassionate care given by nurses every day. City of Hope is proud to be a DAISY Award Partner!

The Nursing Recruitment, Retention and Recognition Work Team (Triple R) coordinates the DAISY Program. Every month, a nurse is selected from the many nominations received by patients and families. 

Clinical Advancement Program (CAP)

The City of Hope Clinical Advancement Program (CAP) intent is to promote the professional nursing practice by recognizing and rewarding RNs who demonstrate personalized oncology nursing excellence and contribute to the continued development of nursing at City of Hope.

Nurses' week Excellence Awards Recognition Ceremony

The annual Professional Practice and Scholarly Achievement Recognition Ceremony was held on May 8, 2019.  The afternoon of recognition was led by CNO Susan Brown, with opening remarks by President and Physician-in-Chief Michael Caligiuri.
There were a total of 29 nominations for the various Excellence awards. Susan and Michael presented awards to the very honored nurses:
  • Nurse Preceptor of the Year Award: Salina Agadier, M.S.N., R.N.
  • Nursing Excellence in Evidence-Based Practice Award: Cynthia Wooten, B.S.N., R.N.
  • Advanced Practice Professional of the Year: Leah Falk, N.P.
  • Nursing Excellence at a Community Practice Site Award: Heidi Jakob, R.N.
  • Nurse Leader of the Year Award: Maristela Cunniff, B.S.N., R.N.
  • Nursing Excellence Award: Lynette Hagman, R.N.
Nurses Week Excellence Awards Recognition

Left front row: Lynette Hagman, RN, Dr. John Raytis, MD,  Leah Falk, MSN, NP, Susan Brown, Back Row: Dina Laluces, PCA, Salina Agadier, MSN, RN, Heidi Jacob,RN,  Cynthia Wootan, BSN, RN