Spirit of Life® Award Dinner

Spirit of Life Award Dinner honoring Honoring

Joseph X. Cushing
Executive Vice President

Wednesday, November 8, 2017

5:30-7 p.m. – VIP Reception
6-7 p.m. – General Reception
7 p.m. – Dinner
8:15 p.m. – Program
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, Chicago.
24 years ago a group of construction and real estate professionals came together to fund City of Hope and the search for a cure for cancer, diabetes and life-threatening illness. Since that time, the Chicago Construction and Real Estate Council for City of Hope has grown to include representatives from all levels of the industry. Each year, the industry group comes together to a gala dinner where The Spirit of Life® Award is award to an industry leader.

The Spirit of Life® Award is City of Hope's most prestigious honor. The Spirit of Life Award Dinner offers industry professionals a unique combination of networking, socializing, and honoring an important business leader all while raising money for a worthy cause.

Joseph Xavier Cushing

Joe Cushing has been with Cushing since his graduation in 1985 from Indiana University’s Kelley School of Business.  His career began in the billing department and then onto outdoor sales.

He became the Sales Manager of the company in 1991, and Executive Vice President in 2000.  Working with his sister Cathleen Cushing Duff, President, Joe works closely with key clients and the operations staff at Cushing.  He has been instrumental in changing the company culture to empower his staff to become more customer-focused and service conscious.  He has served as President on industry Boards for the ReproMAX Association and with the North Central Reprographics Association.  

He is active in the Chicago Chapter of the Society for Marketing Professional Services, serving as their President from 1995-97. Within the Chicago community Joe supports a variety of charitable organizations such as the March of Dimes, City of Hope, ACE Mentor Chicago, the Marwen Foundation and SOS Villages.  Joe has been a passionate supporter as President of City of Hope’s Construction and Real Estate Council since 2010.   He married to his wife Beth in 1987 and they resides in Park Ridge, where they raised four girls: Hannah, Katelyn, Julia and Margaret.


Landmark Sponsor




Founders Sponsors


Dinner Committee

Joe Antunovich
Antunovich Associates
Mark Gunderson
Cushman & Wakefield
Don Biernacki
Related Midwest
Tricia Haddon
Fidelity National Title
Bob Bruno
Pepper Construction
Mike McInerney
Titan Electric
Bill Burfeind
J.C. Anderson
Katie Mulrenin
Krusinski Construction
Chris Burke
Chris B. Burke Engineering
Meredith O’Connor
Erin Cabonargi
Sterling Bay
Joe O’Sullivan
Syska Hennessy Group
Dan Cronin
Turner Construction
Dave Pepper
Pepper Construction
Tom Cushing Dan Ryan
Pat Donley
Power Construction
Tom Saletta
White Oak Realty
Jack Durburg
Tim Stanton
HSA Commercial Inc.
Steve Fort
Turner Construction
Mike Toolis

Past Recipients

Jim DeStefano
Mark Dewalt
John DiCiurcio
Al Gorman
Hem Gupta
Lori Healey
Lamar Johnson
Chris Kennedy
Ron Materick
Mike McInerney
Meredith O'Connor
Bill O’Neil
Jeff Riemer
Dan Ryan
Adrian Smith
Richie Stein
Steve Stratton
Mike Szkatulski
Myron Warshauer
Jim Zajac