我從白血病診斷和臍帶血移植學到的事 - Alex Tung

2015年7月22日 | by Denise Heady

City of Hope病患 Alex Tung 白血病患者 Alex Tung 等了六個月的骨髓配對,但是因為他的中國血統,尋找配對比預期還要困難不少。 因此,他簽下使用臍帶血的臨床試驗移植手術。

720 天。 這是38歲的 Alex Tung 診斷出急性骨髓性白血症之後有多久不能衝浪的日子。 對大多數人來講,甚至某些衝浪者來說,這麼久不衝浪沒什麼大不了的,但對 Tung 來講,衝浪是他的一切。

這位南加州居民從小學就開始衝浪,從此愛上了這項運動和海洋。 長大之後,Tung 會直接到海灘去衝浪。 衝浪就是他的冥想的方式, 在水裡他什麼都不用在乎。

Tung 說:「我在水裡的時候,我覺得跟大自然更接近, 海洋理清了我的頭緒,帶給我正面的力量,舒緩我的心靈。 衝浪是我的寄託。 衝浪是我的一切。」

在2014年初,Tung 在海裡的時候第一次注意到身體上的紅點。 他當時沒有想太多。

然後,同年五月,他去了夏威夷衝浪。 那時候他開始注意到腿上的瘀青,也發現自己很容易疲勞。 他回到 Cerritos 家裡之後,他決定聽從家人朋友的建議,跟醫生預約門診。

Tung 的醫生馬上就懷疑他得了某種白血病。 檢查結果證明醫生的懷疑是對的。

Alex Tung 白血病患者 Alex Tung 在City of Hope年度骨髓移植聚會慶祝移植後百日紀念。

Tung 馬上就開始接受化療,並在當地醫院待了一個月。 結束治療以後,Tung 得知他的唯一解藥是幹細胞或骨髓移植。

尋找配對的過程甚為艱辛

在他診斷後不久,Tung 來到City of Hope,希望能做移植手術。

每年有上千人罹患致命血液疾病,需要骨髓抽取的幹細胞來進行移植,才有存活的機會。 有些人幸運地能在家族裡找到骨髓配對,其他人則只能透過國立骨髓登記名冊來尋找非親屬捐贈者。

Tung 等了六個月的配對,但因為他的中國血統,尋找配對比預期困難。

雖然有1千2百萬人名列登記名冊,但只有 7% 有亞洲血統。

最後,由血液學和造血細胞移植部門的助理教授 Elizabeth Budde 醫學博士暨博士指導下,Tung 決定簽下使用臍帶血移植的臨床試驗,而不用骨髓移植。 在血癌病患找不到理想幹細胞配對的情況下,臍帶血可以用來當作移植所需的幹細胞。

現在,Tung 已經結束移植六個月了,仍在持續康復中。 在拿到診斷結果的時候,他被告知要兩年不能碰水以避免感染,所以他倒數著能再度下水衝浪的日子。 他最近才渡過了387天的漫長等待,雖然等待很艱辛,但 Tung 說:「一切再好不過了。」

回想這段歷程      

在這裏 Tung 分享了治療路上的一些智慧,以及實用的小建議給剛診斷出罹癌的病患。

  1. 保持樂觀的態度。 Tung 說:「這是我給的第一個也是最重要的建議, 你即將進行人生最大的戰鬥,所以必須要保持心智堅強。 我從沒有讓自己有撐不下去這個念頭。」
  1. 你可以信任你的醫生。 Tung 說:「我剛開始生病的時候,不願相信自己有癌症, 我想諮詢第二第三意見,而且不相信任何醫師。 我最後終於了解這些醫師不但會幫我,而且也想要幫我。 一旦我接受了這個一點,整個過程就變得比較好過了。」
  1. 讓診斷結果把你變成更好的人。 Tung 說:「信不信由你,癌症讓我的人生變得更豐富了, 癌症讓我發現自己有多自私,躲在自己的小世界裡。 癌症其實讓我因禍得福。 我成為更堅強的人,也真正成長了。 我現在跟好幾個機構合作,想盡我所能地幫忙。」
**

進一步瞭解成為病患或取得第二意見,請上我們的網站或打電話給 800-826-HOPE(4673)您也可以上網預約新病患門診 City of Hope的工作人員會向您解釋來本院諮詢所需的資料,在您來院之前幫您確認您的保險是否給付門診。

 

類別 : 創舉

您可能也有興趣

返回頂部

搜尋部落格

Lessons from my leukemia diagnosis and cord blood transplant – Alex Tung

July 22, 2015 | by Denise Heady

City of Hope patient Alex Tung Leukemia patient Alex Tung waited six months for a bone marrow match, but because of his Chinese heritage, the search proved more difficult than expected. Instead, he signed up for a clinical trial transplant that used umbilical cord blood.

720 days. That's how long Alex Tung, 38, had to give up surfing after being diagnosed with acute myeloid leukemia. For most people, even some surfers, such a hiatus wouldn't be a big deal, but for Tung, surfing has been everything.

The Southern California resident began surfing when he was in elementary school, immediately falling in love with the sport and the ocean. As an adult, Tung would head straight to the beach to go surfing. It was his version of meditating. Nothing mattered when he was in the water.

“When I’m in the ocean, I feel more connected to mother nature,” Tung said. “It clears my mind, gives me positive energy and soothes my soul. It’s my escape. It’s everything to me.”

It was in the ocean, in early 2014, where Tung first noticed red dots on his body. He didn’t think much of it at the time.

Then, in May of that year, he went on a surfing trip to Hawaii. That's when he also started noticing bruises on his legs and found himself getting tired easily. When he returned home to Cerritos, he decided to finally take his family's and friend’s advice to make an appointment with his doctor.

Tung’s doctor immediately suspected Tung had a form of leukemia. Tests proved him right.

Alex Tung Leukemia patient Alex Tung celebrates 100 days post-transplant at City of Hope's annual Bone Marrow Transplant Reunion.

Tung immediately started chemotherapy and spent a month in a local hospital. After finishing the treatment, Tung was told his only hope for a cure would be a stem cell, or bone marrow, transplant.

Finding a match proves difficult

Soon after his diagnosis, Tung came to City of Hope hoping to undergo a transplant.

Every year thousands of people with life-threatening blood cancers depend on a transplant of stem cells from bone marrow to survive their disease. Although some are lucky enough to find a bone marrow match within their families, others have to seek an unrelated donor through the National Bone Marrow Registry.

Tung waited six months for a match, but because of his Chinese heritage, the search proved more difficult than expected.

Although 12 million people have signed up with the registry, only 7 percent are of Asian descent.

Ultimately, with the guidance of his doctor, Elizabeth Budde, M.D., Ph.D., assistant professor in the Department of Hematology & Hematopoietic Cell Transplantation, Tung decided to sign up for a clinical trial that used umbilical cord blood for transplantation instead of bone marrow. Cord blood has been found to provide the stem cells necessary for transplant when a blood cancer patient doesn't have an ideal stem cell match.

Today, Tung is nearly six months post-transplant and still recovering. Upon his diagnosis, he was told to stay out of the water for two years due to the risk of infection, so he's slowly counting down the days until he can step into the ocean once more. He recently hit the 387-days-to-go mark and, though waiting is difficult, Tung said, “Things couldn’t look better.”

Reflecting on his journey      

Here, Tung shares some of the wisdom he's gained during his treatment journey, along with practical tips for patients who have been newly diagnosed.

  1. Stay positive. “This is the first and foremost important piece advice I would give,” Tung said. “You are about to undergo the biggest battle of your life, and you need to stay mentally strong. Not once did I allow myself to think I wasn’t going to make it.”
  1. It’s OK to trust your doctors. “When I first got sick, I didn’t want to believe I had cancer,” Tung said. “I wanted second and third opinions and didn’t trust any of the doctors. I finally realized that these doctors were not only here to help me, but wanted to help me. Once I accepted this, the process became more comfortable for me.”
  1. Let your diagnosis change you for the better. "My experience with cancer, believe it or not, has actually enriched my life,” Tung said. “It made me realize how selfish I was; wrapped up in my own bubble. It really was a blessing in disguise. I have become stronger as person and have really grown. I am now involved with a couple of organizations and trying to do what I can to help.”
**

Learn more about becoming a patient or getting a second opinion by visiting our website or by calling 800-826-HOPE (4673). You may also request a new patient appointment online. City of Hope staff will explain what's required for a consult at City of Hope and help you determine, before you come in, whether or not your insurance will pay for the appointment.

 

Categories : Patient Care

Back To Top

Search Blogs