您的居住地點如何影響您罹患癌症的風險

2018年6月2日 | by City of Hope

「當最近的販賣蔬菜地點距離 20 英里時,我們如何告訴人們多吃蔬菜?當公園破舊不安全時,我們如何告訴他們要多運動?」
 
來自 City of Hope 研究員和 Kimlin Tam Ashing 教授的金玉良言 強調關於罹患癌症風險的重要觀點,特別是對貧困社區的人們。您住的地方很重要。
 
環境與整體福祉和罹患癌症風險有直接的關係。在壓力下生活會損害您的健康。當不健康的速餐便宜而且無處可尋找健康食物時,肥胖率會上升。肥胖與罹患癌症風險增加有關。
 
為日常生存而奮鬥的人無法輕鬆地搬到更好的社區。但是,感謝那些具前瞻性的個人和組織,人們有更多的機會改善他們的健康和生活品質,並降低他們罹患癌症的風險。這裡有一些例子:
 
希望種子(Seeds of Hope)洛杉磯主教區食品司法部門負責人 Tim Alderson 提出了一項改變教堂閒置的計劃 - 特別是在低收入的「食物沙漠」社區 - 而不僅僅是向有需要的人提供食物。更進入小農場,種植健康的作物,並教導人們聰明的飲食。這個令人難以置信的成功計劃正在 100 多個社區中發揮作用。
 
CCARE - City of Hope 的研究與教育社區聯盟中心(由 Ashing 領導) - 進入缺乏服務的社區,並鼓勵雜貨店更顯眼地展示健康食品。他們還與健康食品零售商合作,鼓勵他們接受糧食券。當需要進行大規模改變時,團隊甚至會教導社區成員代表自己進行遊說。
 
CCARE 人員還開展了一項名為「飲食、運動、生活」的學校計劃,教育孩子們了解癌症和糖尿病預防方面的知識和注意事項。
 
確保所有好的和重要的步驟的執行。但 Ashing 表示還有很多工作要做。
 
「我們互相交談;我們並肩工作。我們正朝著正確的方向前進,但改變政策的必要性是顯而易見的。教育、健康、居住和安全的環境 - 這些不僅僅是特權,而是基本的人權。」
 

Sign up to receive the latest updates on City of Hope news, medical breakthroughs, and prevention tips straight to your email inbox!

返回頂部

搜尋部落格

How Where You Live Affects Your Risk of Cancer

June 2, 2018 | by City of Hope

"How can we tell people to eat more vegetables when the nearest place selling them is 20 miles away? How can we tell them to exercise when the park is run down and unsafe?”
 
Those wise words from City of Hope researcher and professor Kimlin Tam Ashing, Ph.D. underscore an important point about cancer risk, especially for people in poor communities. Where you live matters.
 
Environment has a direct connection to overall well-being and cancer risk. Living under stressful conditions damages your health. When unhealthy fast food is cheap and healthy food is nowhere to be found, obesity rates rise. And obesity is linked to an increased risk of cancer.
 
People who struggle just to survive day-to-day can't simply up and move to a better neighborhood. But thanks to forward-thinking individuals and organizations, there are more opportunities for folks to improve their health and the quality of their lives and cut their cancer risk, right where they are. Here are a few examples:
 
Seeds of Hope – Rather than just hand out food to the needy, Tim Alderson, leader of the food justice arm of the Episcopal Diocese of Los Angeles came up with a plan to turn vacant church property — especially in low-income, “food desert” neighborhoods — into small farms, growing healthy crops and teaching people about smart eating. This incredibly successful program is making a difference in over 100 communities.
 
CCARE — City of Hope's Center of Community Alliance for Research & Education (directed by Ashing) — goes into underserved neighborhoods and encourages grocers to display healthy foods more prominently. They also work with healthy food retailers to encourage them to accept food stamps. When large-scale change is necessary, the team even teaches community members to lobby on their own behalf.
 
The CCARE folks also run a school-based program called “Eat, Move, Live,” educating kids in the do's and don'ts of cancer and diabetes prevention.
 
All good and important steps, to be sure. But Ashing says much more needs to be done.
 
“We talk to each other; we work side by side. We’re moving in the right direction, but the need for policy changes is clear. Education, health, housing and safe environments — these aren’t just privileges, they’re fundamental human rights.”
 

Sign up to receive the latest updates on City of Hope news, medical breakthroughs, and prevention tips straight to your email inbox!

Back To Top