Nursing Awards and Recognition

The exceptional contributions of our nurses are regularly recognized via the monthly DAISY Award, the quarterly Clinical Advancement Program (CAP), and the annual Professional Practice Awards.
Learn more about the contributions of Nursing at City of Hope: Nursing Spotlight Newsletter


The DAISY Foundation was established in 1999 by the family of J. Patrick Barnes who died of complications of the auto-immune disease Idiopathic Thrombocytopenia Purpura (ITP) at the age of 33.  DAISY is an acronym for Diseases Attacking the Immune System. 

As a result of the amazing nursing care and compassion Patrick received during his 8 week hospitalization, his family wanted to recognize extraordinary nurses everywhere who make an enormous difference in the lives of so many people by the super-human work they do every day. The DAISY Award for Extraordinary Nurses is now an international program that rewards and celebrates the clinical skill and compassionate care given by nurses every day. City of Hope is proud to be a DAISY Award Partner!

The DAISY Program is coordinated by the Nursing Excellence and Quality Practice Leadership Team. Every month, a nurse is selected from the many nominations received by patients and families. 

Clinical Advancement Program (CAP)

The City of Hope Clinical Advancement Program (CAP) intent is to promote the professional nursing practice by recognizing and rewarding RNs who demonstrate personalized oncology nursing excellence and contribute to the continued development of nursing at City of Hope.

2023 Nursing Excellence Awards

2023 Nursing Award Winners Collage

AMNNRP Mentor of the Year: Annika Carlos, BSN, RN
Advanced Practice Provider of the Year: Leana Chien, MSN, RN, GNP-BC, CV-BC
Commitment to Community Service: Dacy Gaona, BSN, RN, OCN
DAISY Nurse Leader (Spring):  Monica Munaretto, MSN, RN, OCN
DAISY Nurse Leader (Fall): Amber Hewitt, BSN, RN, RN-BC
DAISY Nurse Leader (Fall): Nicol Hedgpeth, DNP, RN, NP-C, AOCNP
DAISY Team Award: Helford 4 East
Evidence-Based Practice Mentor of the Year: Nimian Bauder, MSN, APRN, AGCNS-BC, NPD-BC, EBP-C
Exemplary Professional Practice Leader: Mary Colasuonno, BSN, RN, BMTCN
Interprofessional Collaboration:  
  Dr. Nitya Nathwani
   Jennifer Bautista-Aquino, MSN, APRN, NP-C
   Karen Betito, BSN, RN
   Karla Alvarado, MA
Excellence in Nursing Research, New Knowledge, Innovations, And Improvements: Freedman Day Hospital Unit Based Council
Physician Excellence: Dr. Hugh Davis
Nurse Preceptor of the Year: Katalin Aisa Viluan Danila, BSN, RN
Professional Nursing Certification: Peri-Anesthesia Care Unit
Professional Nursing Certification: Freedman Day Hospital
Transition to Practice: Hannah Reynoso, BSN, RN

2022 Nursing Excellence Awards

2022 Nursing Awards and Recognition Award Recipients

Advanced Practice Provider of the Year: Carey Ramirez, MSN, NP, NP-C   
Ancillary Care Provider of the Year: Judson Smith, PT 
Commitment to Community Service: Alicia Kuipers, BSN, RN, CCRN
DAISY Nurse Leader (Spring): Maristela Cunniff, MSN, RN, CRN
DAISY Nurse Leader (Fall): Jesee Castro, MSN, RN
DAISY Team Award: Day Hospital 
Excellence in Nursing Research, New Knowledge, Innovations, And Improvements Award: Outpatient Infusion Council 
Exemplary Professional Practice Nurse Leader: Casey Thomas, BSN, RN, CCRN
Interprofessional Collaboration Team Award: Safe Medication Team 
Interprofessional Mentor of the Year: 
   Dr. Tyler Seto 
    Cheryl Gates
Nurse Mentor of the Year: Nimian Bauder, MSN, APRN, AGCNS-BC, NPD-BC, EBP-C
Nurse Preceptor of the Year: Eden Bausa-Adriano, BSN, RN, CPN, BMTCN
Physician Excellence: Dr. Chandana Banerjee 
Professional Nursing Certification Team Award: ICU
Relationship Based Care Nursing Excellence: Kimberly Co, BSN, RN, CCRN 
Transition to Practice: Ileana Robinson, MSN, RN 

2021 Nursing Excellence Awards

2021 Nursing Excellence Award Winners

Lacy Jo Graham, DNP, NP, FNP & Brian Bowman, MSN, NP, AGACNP: Advanced Practice Providers
Caroline Krygsman, Unit Ambassador, 4 East: Ancillary Care Provider
Crisis Response Unit (CRU): Daisy Team Award
Edyssa Uy, MSN, NP, AGPCNP: Excellence in Nursing Research, New Knowledge, Innovation
Nathan Duer, BSN, RN, BMTCH, Unit B: Exemplary Professional Practice Nurse Leader
Outpatient Surgical Services: Interprofessional Collaboration
Anne Ireland MSN, RN, 4 East: Nurse Preceptor of the Year
Dr. Xiomara Rocha-Cadman: Physician Excellence
Pediatric Infusion RNs: Professional Nursing Certification
Tanya Zuniga, BSN, RN 4 East: Relationship Based Care Nursing Excellence
Michelle Garcia, BSN, RN QRRM: Transformational Nurse Leader
Carley Laliberte, BSN, RN, 4 East: Transition to Practice

2020 Nursing Excellence Awards

The annual Professional Practice and Scholarly Achievement Recognition Ceremony was held virtually on August 25, 2020. The afternoon of recognition was led by Susan Brown, CNO who presented awards to the following  honorees: 

Excellence in Care Collaboration Award: Martha Delgado, CNA 
Advanced Practice Professional of the Year: Kathleen Burns, MSN, NP
Physician Excellence in Collaborative Practice Award: Brian Tiep, MD
Community Service Spirit Award: Susan McCreary, RN
Nurse Preceptor of the Year: Jamie Hale, BSN, RN
Nursing Excellence in Evidence Based Practice: Kathy McNeese, MSN, RN
Direct Care Nurse Leader of the Year: Renee Mashikian, MSN, RN
Nurse Leader of the Year: Kaddie Lopez, MSN, RN
Excellence in Nursing Award: Kristina Antonio, BSN, RN

2020 Nursing Excellence Awardees
Top Row: Kathleen Burns, MSN, NP; Susan McCreary, RN; Renee Mashikian, MSN, RN; Kaddie Lopez, MSN, RN; Brian Tiep, MD
Bottom Row: Jamie Hale, BSN, RN; Kathy McNeese, MSN, RN; Martha Delgado, CNA; Kristina Antonio, BSN, RN