Experimental Therapeutics - Lorraine Mutsvunguma

Lorraine Mutsvunguma, Ph.D.

  • Postdoctoral Fellow, Department of Immuno-Oncology

Lorraine Mutsvunguma, Ph.D.

Research Focus :
  • Development of EBV prophylactic and therapeutic vaccines
  • Characterization of EBV antibodies
  • Viral and host protein-protein interactions
  • 2018-present, Postdoctoral Fellow, Department of Immuno-Oncology, City of Hope, Duarte, CA
  • 2016 –2017, Postdoctoral Fellow, Department of Experimental Therapeutics, Beckman Research Institute of City of Hope, Duarte, CA
  • 2015 – 2016, Postdoctoral Fellow, Department of Molecular Medicine, The University of the Witwatersrand, South Africa
  • 2014, Postdoctoral Fellow, Department of Molecular Medicine, Rhodes University, South Africa
  • 2011, Advertisement Portfolio Manager, Cancer Initiative, Rhodes University, South Africa
  • 2010, Laboratory Manager, Picornavirus Research Group, Rhodes University, South Africa


  • 2013 – Rhodes University, South Africa, Ph.D., Biochemistry
  • 2010 – Rhodes University, South Africa, M.Sc., Microbiology
  • 2008 – Rhodes University, South Africa, B.Sc. Honors, Biochemistry
  • 2007 – Rhodes University, South Africa, B.Sc., Microbiology and Biochemistry
  • Jauka TI, Mutsvuguma L, Boshoff A, Edkins AL, Knox C (2010) Localisation of Theiler’s Murine Encephalomyelitis virus protein 2C to the Golgi apparatus using antibodies generated against a peptide region. J Virol Methods 168:162–169
  • Mutsvunguma LZ, Moetlhoa, B, Edkins AL, Luke GA, Blatch GL, Knox, C (2011) Theiler’s murine encephalomyelitis virus infection induces a redistribution of heat shock proteins 70 and 90 in BHK-21 cells, and is inhibited by novobiocin and geldanamycin. Cell Stress and Chaperones 16:505–515
  • de la Mare J, Contu L, Hunter MC, Moyo B, Sterrenberg JN, Dhanani KC, Mutsvunguma LZ and Edkins AL (2014) Breast cancer: Current developments in molecular approaches to diagnosis and treatment. Recent Patents on Anti-Cancer Drug Discovery Journal 9 (2): 153-75
  • 2016, Faculty Of Research Committee Individual Research Grants (The University of The Witwatersrand)
  • 2014, Rhodes University Post-doctoral Fellowship
  • 2011 - 2013, NRF grantholder linked bursary (PhD)
  • 2009 - 2010, NRF grantholder linked bursary (MSc)
Back To Top