放射線治療與血液癌症

簡介

放射線治療是血液癌症療法重要的一環,比如白血病淋巴瘤l多發性骨髓瘤,尤其是需要幹細胞移植的癌症,因為在移植之前需要進行放療和 / 或化療以消滅異常癌細胞。

2005 年 6 月,City of Hope進行了世界上首次使用螺旋斷層放療的全骨髓照射手術。 從此,全骨髓照射計劃得以擴展,如今已應用在很多臨床試驗中。

傳統上療法是放射腫瘤醫師運用全身照射來治療血液和骨髓癌症。 在這個過程中,很難避免器官受到放射線的損傷。 螺旋斷層放療技術,放射束的面積很小,可以更準確地鎖定腫瘤。 City of Hope現在可以精確地向癌細胞聚集的整個骨髓腔發出放射線。 這種全骨髓照射可以在縮短恢復時間和減少副作用的同時改善療效。

City of Hope還在研究放射免疫療法在治療血液癌症方面的作用。 這種療法將放射性物質附在專為癌細胞打造的基因工程分子上。 注射之後,這些細胞被吸向全身的癌細胞,然後癌細胞會被所附的放射性顆粒殺死。

進一步瞭解:

返回頂部

Radiation Therapy and Hematologic Cancers

Overview

Radiation therapy is a vital component in the treatment of blood cancers such as leukemia, lymphoma and multiple myeloma, particularly for cases requiring a stem cell transplant, since radiation and/or chemotherapy is required to destroy the abnormal cancer cells prior to the transplant procedure.

 

Tomotherapy total marrow irradiation

 

In June 2005, City of Hope performed the first total marrow irradiation procedure in the world using TomoTherapy. Since then, the total marrow irradiation program has been expanded and has become available in a number of clinical trials.

Traditionally, radiation oncologists have treated blood and bone marrow cancers with total body irradiation. During this process, it is difficult to keep radiation from damaging organs. TomoTherapy technology, with its tiny radiation beamlets, targets tumors more precisely. City of Hope can now deliver radiation to the entire marrow compartment where the cancer cells reside, in a precisely focused manner. This total marrow irradiation (shown on the right) potentially improves treatment while reducing recovery time and side effects.

City of Hope is also investigating the use of radioimmunotherapy to treat blood cancers. This treatment attaches radioactive material to genetically-engineer molecules that specifically hones in on cancer cells. Once injected, these cells gravitate towards cancer cells throughout the body, which are then killed off by the attached radioactive particle.

Learn more about:

Back To Top